Public Feedback Sought on 2018 Private Property Towing Reforms

The State Government is now seeking feedback on the private property towing reforms implemented in 2018, following rising complaints from residents in Ascot and several other suburbs about unfair and intimidatory practices of some towing operators.

“Your say on Queensland’s Tow Truck Scheme,” is a two-part discussion paper released recently to seek feedback on the private property towing changes introduced last year, as well as gather suggestions on how the government can improve the tow truck scheme. 

The Government introduced tow truck reforms to address community concerns about private property towing including the “intimidatory and threatening behaviour of tow truck operators and excessive fees for towing and storage of vehicles,” and following independent investigation into the towing industry.

Since its 2018 implementation, TMR has received 197 tow truck complaints, including 79 complaints about private property towing. This is a marked improvement from the 515 complaints recorded in the 12 months prior to the reforms, including concerns about driver conduct, authority to tow, and fees charged.

These complaints have resulted in the issuance of infringement notices, licence holder education, and even the cancellation of some tow truck driver accreditations.

“The legislation regulates private property and crash towing. It ensures all tow truck drivers are accredited, all trucks are licensed, and fees are capped, protecting motorists from unscrupulous tow truck operators,” Transport and Main Roads Minister Mark Bailey said.

“We committed to reviewing these reforms within two years to ensure they adequately addressed community concerns and improved industry practices.”

Currently, the scheme is implemented in the following regulated  areas:

  • The Shires of – Beaudesert, Boonah, Caboolture, Esk, Gatton, Kilcoy, Laidley, Maroochy, Noosa, Pine Rivers and Redland.
  • The Cities of – Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Caloundra, Gold Coast, Hervey Bay, Ipswich, Logan, Mackay, Maryborough, Redcliffe, Rockhampton and Toowoomba.
  • The areas made up of the parishes of:
    • Clement and Hinchinbrook in the county of Gray
    • Beor, Bohle, Coonambelah, Ettrick, Halifax, Hervey, Lansdowne, Magnetic, Margenta, Rokeby, Ross, Stuart and Wyoming in the county of Elphinstone.

Visit to have your say on the future of the tow truck scheme. Deadline is on 24 November 2019.